NUST awarded campus radio licence

THE Broadcasting Authority of Zimbabwe (BAZ) has awarded the National University of Science and Technology (NUST) a campus radio licence together with Lupane State University (LSU) and Harare Polytechnic College.

The three academic institutions awarded campus broadcasting licences join Great Zimbabwe University, University of Zimbabwe and Midlands State University which have already been licensed.

“The three institutions of higher learning issued Campus Radio licences are NUST, LSU and Harare Polytechnic College. After licensing the stations should be operational within 18 months, failure of which the licences will be automatically revoked as stipulated by the Broadcasting Services Act,” BAZ said in a statement.

Three more community radios were also awarded licences.

“The Broadcasting Authority of Zimbabwe would like to announce that it has licensed three more Community Radio Stations. The licences have been issued to the following applicants: Beitbridge — Shashe Community Radio Broadcasting Association which covers Beitbridge and Shashe, Chiredzi Rural Communities Development Initiative Trust trading as Avuxeni FM which covers Chikombedzi, Chiredzi, Rutenga, Mahenye and Malipati and to Lyeja-Nyayi Development Trust that covers Hwange and Victoria Falls,” said BAZ.

Last year BAZ awarded three licences to Mbembesi Development Trust, Ntepe-Manama Community Radio Trust and Nyangani Community Radio Trust.

In 2020 BAZ invited applications for 10 community radio stations, 19 campus radio stations and six TV stations.

So far six community radios, six campus radios and six new free-to-air private television stations have been licensed.

Zimpapers Television Network (ZTN), a subsidiary of diversified media group Zimbabwe Newspapers (1980) Ltd, was one of the channels awarded a free-to-air television licence.

The other five are Rusununguko Media (Pvt) Ltd — trading as NRTV, Jester Media trading as 3K TV, Acacia Media Group — trading as Kumba TV, Fairtalk Communications — trading as Ke Yona TV — and Channel Dzimbahwe — trading as Channel D. – Chronicle/NUST.

© Copyright 2023. National University of Science & Technology. All Rights Reserved