The Department of Applied Physics at the National University of Science and Technology aims to take the leading role in the advancement of Physics through high quality teaching and cutting edge research. New technologies have demanded that physics today, be guided by needs of industry so that physics skills are necessary tools for the scientist in general, the engineer, and the medical and agricultural practitioners. Apart from traditional  areas of physics, the department is focusing on; Radiation Physics, Geophysics and Earth Sciences, Medical Physics, Industrial instrumentation, Radiography and Medical Imaging, Lasers and Applied Optics among other modern fields to cater for pertinent needs and applications of physics in industry today.

At undergraduate level, the Department offers exciting programmes in the form of BSc (Hons) Applied Physics, BSc (Hons) Radiography, BSc (Hons) Earth Sciences, and BSc Special Honours in Radiography.

At postgraduate level the department offers; MSc in Medical Physics, MSc in Lasers and Applied Optics, MSc in Geophysics and MSc in Radiography and research degrees at both Masters(MPhil) and PhD levels.

All undergraduate programmes are currently on full-time basis, except for BSc Special Honours in Radiography which is offered on Block-Release basis. All Masters Degrees can be offered as either Full-time or Part-time/Block release programmes. In the pipeline we have at proposal level programmes that include; HND, DIP Ultra Sound Scanning as well as MSc in Nuclear Medicine.

The department collaborates with local and international institutions in order to enhance its research capacity and teaching activities.